The Inventor's Secret (Inventor's Secret Series #1)

The Inventor's Secret (Inventor's Secret Series #1)

by Andrea Cremer
3.3 6

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Inventor's Secret (Inventor's Secret Series #1) by Andrea Cremer

New from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure.

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Engines.


Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET

* "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--VOYA, starred review

"[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780698149175
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 04/22/2014
Series: Inventor's Secret Series , #1
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 460,253
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Andrea Cremer is the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series, which includes Nightshade, Wolfsbane, Bloodrose, Snakeroot, Rift and Rise. She is also the author of the Inventor's Secret series, and of Invisibility,which she co-wrote with David Levithan. She lives in Claremont, CA. You can visit her online at www.AndreaCremer.com or follow her on Twitter @andreacremer.


From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Inventor's Secret 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First off, try to excuse my spelling. I'm a terrible speller, and typing this on my nook doesn't make it any easier, but I will try my best to give at least a half-way decent review of this book: The Inventor's Secret by Andrea Cremer. In my opinion,Ms Cremer had a good idea going, but it was poorly executed. The characters were also poorly done. Charlotte is not a very likeable chatacter and got on my nerves really quick. I had zero tolerance for her attitude and I couldn't stand the way she constintly complained about being treated like a child, even though she repeatedly acted like she was 12 instead of 16, and was highly immature and impulsive. I couldn't stand her. For me, I have to like the characters somewhat, or at least understand where their coming from when they act certain ways, for me to enjoy a book, and Charlotte, being the main cjaracter, failed to do anything except annoy me. Unfortunatly I can't get into the other aspects I disliked about this book because I don't want to spoil it for any readers, but I will say that the charcters were the very least of the issues I had reading this. If you like steampunk novels try curtsies and conspiracies instead. Well I didn't particularly enjoy that one either, (I'm not a big steampunk fan) it was still better than this one.
Anonymous 27 days ago
Description: this is by far my favorite book. It has an amazing storyline and is just a fantastic read altogether. Readers will love the characters who are 3-dimensional, rather than tools. <p> Profanity: some occasional swear words <p> Voilence: Some mild violence <p> Age Range: 13-15 <p> Suggestive themes: some mildly suggestive themes. <p> ~Kielle
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chancie More than 1 year ago
Simply couldn't get into it. I didn't like the characters or the way they interacted, the writing felt very description heavy, and the actual word choice itself felt unnatural. I wanted to like it, but I just couldn't.
Adventurer-in-print More than 1 year ago
I though the story was great and I think young readers will enjoy it and antisipate the next one in the series.
chapterxchapter More than 1 year ago
I&rsquo;ve been a big fan of Andrea Cremer ever since I started reading her Nightshade series and her co-written novel Invisibility. Both were amazing and so I was excited to get reading The Inventor&rsquo;s Secret. While I have never been very interested in the steampunk genre I knew that this would have to be something good considering who the author is. The Inventor&rsquo;s Secret was not what I expected it to be but it was still a thrilling, imaginative read. The story revolves around sixteen-year-old Charlotte who has been hiding inside of the Catacombs on the edge of the industrial empire in Britain after they won the Revolutionary war. Preparing to join the Resistance, the very last thing that Charlotte expects is to come across a boy with no memory of who is he is where he&rsquo;s from and save his life. Taking him into the Catacombs, the boy tells them that only bad things and a dark future are fast approaching. With that information, Charlotte, her brother Ash, Jack and a few of her other friends, travel into the city to search for answers. Only Charlotte doesn&rsquo;t expect their journey to be so dangerous or for romance to bloom on her journey. As always with Andrea Cremer, the thing that made me love reading The Inventor&rsquo;s Secret was Cremer&rsquo;s writing. There&rsquo;s a perfect combination of details and flow that made reading the novel go by surprisingly fast. I really liked the way we got to see Charlotte&rsquo;s situation and the people around her in the story through the way that it was written. Every chapter was easy to visualize in my head while reading, kind of like it was a movie that just kept on going. That was one of the things that was very well done. What makes this novel work is the characters and the world-building. I had very little confusion as to what was happening and where the characters were and this steampunk Britain (or Britannia) was pretty awesome. Back on the topic of characters, Ash, Jack and Charlotte were three characters who grow a lot throughout the story and I mean Jack was pretty hot.  There is a romance aspect of the novel and I want to say right now that Jack was my favorite. All of his little comments and his mysterious background just made him so overly perfect and the romance between him and Charlotte was very sweet. Still, I do wish that there was more action involved in the plot. After Charlotte finds Grave at the start of the novel everything for the next hundred pages was very slow. Charlotte ends up sneaking into high society Britannia to get some answers and from then on the novel is mostly her trying not to get caught while also evolving her relationship with Jack while also unravelling the mystery of who Graves is and where he came from. In the end there still are a lot of plot holes and unanswered questions and I hope that in the next novel we get to find out some more and get some more action thrown at us. As a reader who doesn&rsquo;t go through much steampunk I thought that The Inventor&rsquo;s Secret was pretty good and that any readers who are interested in the genre would genuinely enjoy The Inventor&rsquo;s Secret. I would recommend the novel to people who enjoy the genre, readers who want a novel that focuses on a world where Britain won the revolutionary war and to any readers who also want to experience a male lead like Jack.