The Vow

The Vow

by Laura Daleo

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780997846119
Publisher: Story Bound Publishing, LLC
Publication date: 08/27/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 238
File size: 3 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Vow 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite The Vow is a dark paranormal fantasy novel written by Laura Daleo. Claire Mathews was puzzled at not seeing her dad waiting for her at the airport. He was always very careful to be on time for any family activity. She grew even more confused and a bit alarmed when her attempts to call her parents or her brother, JJ, met with no success. Finally, she loaded her bags into a waiting taxi and made her own way home. Her driver took a second look at her when he arrived at her destination, as if to make sure she had it right. Claire was stunned to see the police tape festooning the front of her parents’ home. The police cars and the Medical Examiner’s van she saw turned her surprise into dread. Detective Reynolds was sent over to see her, and she met his questions with barely disguised impatience. Yes, she was a student, and home for the summer holidays -- but where were her parents and brother? Laura Daleo’s dark paranormal fantasy novel, The Vow, is set in a world where vampires and humans live peacefully under the conditions set forth by The Vow. I’ll confess to being a bit jaded by urban fantasies featuring vampires, but found Daleo’s offering to be a most agreeable change from the standard fare. Her plot is precisely drawn and apt to please anyone who enjoys not only fantasy, but also well-written police procedural mysteries, and her characters are engaging and credible. Who killed Claire’s parents and what happened to JJ? Claire’s reactions to her sudden loss are the stuff that makes psychological thrillers tick, and her quest for answers and justice kept me hooked into this decidedly different vampire fantasy. Daleo’s insights into the vampire psyche are profound, and those characters in her book of the vampiric persuasion are especially worth spending some time with. The Vow is most highly recommended.
JulieGB More than 1 year ago
Clair was tired of waiting for her parents to pick her up from the airport, so she took a taxi home. She had been away at college and was anxious to get home. When she got there though, the police were there investigating the deaths of her parents, who it seems had been murdered three days prior. Also, her teenage brother JJ was missing. Evidence pointed to a vampire kill. But the Vow had been in effect for over 100 years, allowing humans and vampires to co-exist without fear of each other. Clair didn’t want to wait for the police to solve the murder, as well as find her brother. So, she decides to do her own investigating. Although she finds herself in constant danger from unreliable vampires, she does find one in particular that she feels she can trust. And with his help, she begins to uncover the truth about her family. The mystery of the murders, and Claire’s family background had me reading this story straight through. It was full of suspense and intrigue, and kept me on my toes trying to figure who to trust. I liked the characters, at least the ones that survived. The plot and characters reminded me a lot of the TV series Moonlight, a vampire show that was good, but had a short run. I hope to read more about Claire, Conner, and Detective Reynolds.
JhonniP More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars "The Vow” by Laura Daleo was one of the most unexpectedly awesome books I’ve read in a while. To be totally honest, at first I wasn’t sure I’d like it because I’ve been a bit burned out on paranormal lately (*they are all starting to feel the same*). But I was really impressed with the opening sample, and thought I’d take a chance. Well, I’m so glad I did! Much to my surprise it was so unique and original, it really was unlike anything I’d read, and in a good way!! I loved the creative approach on vampire lore, and there were so many amazing characters ((Claire, Connor and all the others are great)) and I really liked the author’s narrative ‘voice’. We really feel like we are inside Claire’s head (this is told from her first-person POV), yet it never feels limited. Emotional and with great tension as Claire (and others) try to determine if “The Vow” has indeed been broken and why. It had so many interesting plot twists and once I got about halfway through the book it was impossible to put down, and I was pleased with the fact that I didn’t figure out the mystery before it was revealed to us! (I can usually figure out the culprits). The chemistry with Claire and Connor was strong, and I liked how it all came together in the end—A creative, yet believable storyline that leaves you wanting more. Probably best suited for YA/ NA, but can see older readers enjoying it as well.
LauraClarke More than 1 year ago
I really like how even though this novels is about vampires, which is a topic that seems to have been covered from almost every conceivable angle, the story never becomes predictable or feels cliché, and there are some serious plot twists I didn’t see coming… (Most of) the characters were so well-developed and fleshed out I feel like I knew them personally, and for such a ‘paranormal’ themed book, it felt strangely believable… like more ‘real’ than most paranormals, if this makes sense. Liked Daleo’s take on vampire and human relations. Claire makes for a good lead, even if at times she was a little frustrating. The pacing was good, but there were some editing errors (more towards the beginning than later on)…and tended to be over written at times. But I liked her tenacity and watching her relationship with Connor unfold. Overall an emotionally seductive and satisfying escape that I highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a great paranormal novel with a unique take on the vampire myth. Laura Daleo did a terrific job making this story feel like something we haven’t read a million times, which is pretty impressive. Ready for more from this author! Recommend.
JennaBrewster More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars "The Vow” by Laura Daleo takes us on a thrilling, sexy, supernatural journey. The beginning starts off with a shocking event with college student Claire discovering her murdered parents’ bodies, and the suspects are vampires who have possibly broken “The Vow”- a centuries old ‘peace treaty’ between humans and vampires (who are part of modern day society), and the way the story unfolds and how everything is connected pulls you in and takes you to another world where day and night collide. I have to say I really liked reading this and like the author’s writing style a lot and even though there are some disturbing elements, and many of the scenes are pretty fantastical, there is a level of believability there that makes reading these books a magical, rewarding, almost surreal experience. As I read tons of paranormal novels I already had the bar set pretty high in my mind for this one and I wasn’t at all disappointed at all. I think I even liked this one a bit more than normal--- I enjoyed the real world/fantasy world blend but still had that strong magical/paranormal element that is so much fun and wasn’t predictable. And I never really knew what characters I could trust or not so that kept me on my toes. While it’s not perfect (could use some better proofing and trimming of some unnecessary dialogue or descriptions) I thought the story as a whole was pretty great and I’m happy to have read it and will recommend it to fans of New Adult fiction, romance, fantasy, and paranormal.
SteffyC More than 1 year ago
"The Vow” by Laura Daleo was such a great find! This is the second book of hers I’ve read now and I’m so happy I discovered this author. I like that I can really lose myself in the story and with the fascinating characters that are relatable, and not cookie cutter or perfect. But flawed and real. Daleo’s writing is very descriptive and I felt like I was really inside this unique world she created. I liked that it wasn’t just another formulaic vampire story… original, I thought, but at the same time comfortingly familiar. My only beef was that it felt like it took too long to really get going (even though there is good, crazy action at the beginning) for there to be the tension needed to really hook us in to having to keep reading. At times I thought some of the narrative went on a bit too long (too much ‘telling’ and excessive wordiness bordering on ‘purple prose’ at times) and there were some minor editing things I noticed. But despite that I really enjoyed these characters and losing myself in this world for a few nights. The conversations and dialogue were authentic for the age group (so important!) and the ending was bittersweet and made me happy. And no cliffhanger, thank goodness! Can’t wait to read the next book from Laura Daleo soon. Definitely recommend for fans of mystery/ paranormal & romance.
BrendaMax More than 1 year ago
"The Vow” by Laura Daleo is a really good read with an interesting concept and some of the best narrative and prose I’ve come across in a long while….. And just when I thought I was done with vampires forever and had read every possible angle they could take. Make no mistake, there are plenty of subplots happening here, At times I almost felt like it was too much, although the author describes it very well, and I know it’s instrumental to the overall storyline and with what is happening with the main characters. It’s just sometimes seemed like overkill when I would’ve preferred to maybe see a deeper emotional relationship build between the characters instead. There are so many characters that come and go and at to me it just feels like ‘name soup’ where they are paper thin and pretty much indistinguishable from one another. But I enjoyed the complex storyline and Daleo writes with great energy that whisks us along. The thing that struck me the most was just how genuine and authentic it all came across… like how young adults and ‘creatures’ would really talk and act…. In a frighteningly good way. Curious to see if there will be more books like this and where they will go. The ending seems to perhaps leave room open for more from them, but I don’t really see any mention. Wraps up very well on its own though. Daleo doesn’t exactly reinvent the wheel here, but she does deliver quite a fun and entertaining ride for fans of suspenseful paranormal romance.
MegKing More than 1 year ago
I was very impressed with how simply and effortlessly Laura Daleo can tell this addicting, multi-layered story with well-developed world building and great characters and still manage to make vamps fresh! Problem with so many of these types of books that I find is that they really are just ‘unbelievable’, or worse, just a retelling of the same tired plots. But even with the fantastical storyline we are all in, hooked on every scene, as the world building always follows its rules which is so important in books like this. Really liked the mix of ‘paranormal-meets-normal’ (vampires and humans co-existing in modern times), a mystery (who killed Claire’s parents), lots of danger and high stakes drama, and of course a romance. It has it all! I like Daleo’s writing style, very descriptive and passionate. An engaging and intoxicating read all through to the end that feels familiar enough to fit well in the genre, but fresh enough to keep us interested. Love the ending – it wraps up well and I love that it is a standalone (not a part of any series it would appear). But I can’t wait to read more from Laura Daleo in the future! Recommend for fans of YA and NA dark fantasy/ paranormal romance.