The Wendy

The Wendy

by Erin Michelle Sky, Steven Brown

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.49 $6.99 Save 7% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $6.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

One of This Year’s Hottest New YA Series — Goodreads

When the world doesn't want
you to be who you are,
you must become more yourself
than you knew you could be.

London. 1789. More than anything in the world, Wendy Darling wants to be the captain of a ship, but women aren't allowed in the Royal Navy. When she learns the Home Office is accepting a handful of women into its ranks, she jumps at the chance, joining the fight against the most formidable threat England has ever faced. Magic.

But the secret service isn’t exactly what she hoped. Accompanied by a reimagined cast of the original Peter Pan, Wendy soon discovers that her dreams are as far away as ever, that choosing sides isn’t as simple as she thought, and that the only man who isn't blinded by her gender ... might be her nation's greatest enemy.

Praise for The Wendy, by Erin Michelle Sky & Steven Brown:

“All the markings of a classic … captivating and delightful.”Lydia Sherrer, USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Love, Lies & Hocus Pocus

“This is a strong retelling of Peter Pan, with an empowered female protagonist who carves her own path. Wendy’s sharp wit is truly impressive.”School Library Journal

“From page one right up to the end, The Wendy held me enthralled.”Readers’ Favorite

"WOW! Just WOW! I think this is my favorite book of 2018 so far! It was amazing, amazing, amazing.E.J. Hill, Letters to You

"(P)ick it up and begin a great adventure! I DARE YOU!!! If you think you know the story of Wendy, Peter Pan and the Lost Boys, you will find that you never did, until now! You will not regret the time you give to this most entertaining tale of Peter, Windy and all of the others, from Captain "Hook" to Smee, to Nana and the lads. Five stars is not enough! Straight on until morning!!!Caius Fabius, Goodreads

Fans of Brigid Kemmerer's A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Gena Showalter's The Evil Queen and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone will love the rip-rollicking adventure, fantasy and historical elements of The Tales of the Wendy by Dragon Authors Steven Brown and Erin Michelle Sky.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781946137074
Publisher: Trash Dogs Media LLC
Publication date: 01/16/2018
Series: Tales of the Wendy , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 294
Sales rank: 844,993
File size: 7 MB
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

As a child, Steven read anything he could get his hands on, sharing his favorite stories with his younger brothers and then acting them out, especially if this required sword fighting on horseback. When they ran out of books, he wrote his own, including his brothers as the main characters by sketching illustrations on magazine clippings.

Meanwhile, Erin fell in love with llamas and with the books of Anne McCaffrey, whose Dragonriders of Pern series inspired her to become a writer. When she finally met Anne McCaffrey at a fantasy convention some two decades later, she wept uncontrollably throughout the entire affair. She does significantly better with llamas.

Together, they are Dragon Authors, writing science fiction and fantasy for teens and adults. Their short fiction has been published in the Hugo-nominated Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine. The first volume of their newest series, Tales of the Wendy, was named by Goodreads as one of the hottest new YA series of 2018.

Fans of Tales of the Wendy describe their writing as "fresh, descriptive,""witty and clever," reminiscent of the "writing style of The Princess Bride," with twists that are "crazy and perfect."

You can find Erin and Steven (aka The Dragon Authors) at https://dragonauthors.com/bookwyrms/, or on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube as @DragonAuthors.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wendy 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a light-hearted mystery I could read in one day. This book hit the spot and I enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing tale remade from an old classic. I have to say that I love this version much more then the original Peter pan stories and honestly can't wait to see how it continues. The excitement and joy that is conved keeps you turning with eery page, and the need feels like it comes too soon. It will leave you wanting to see how the adventure ends and if it will be a happy or bloody ending.
Pasciuti More than 1 year ago
From the year of 1902 when Peter Pan first appeared in literature to the year we find ourselves in now, the tale of the boy who would never grow up has been told in more ways than I could count. As an avid lover of Peter Pan and all things involved in his beautiful world, it is exceedingly rare that I find adaptations that irrevocably rearrange my feelings for it. At the risk of stating something potentially blasphemous, I have come to the conclusion that The Wendy, by Erin Michelle Sky and Steven Brown, surpasses them all. I was excited to read The Wendy from the moment it fell under my radar a mere nine days ago. Quickly, I decided it was the one book from 2018 that I knew I needed to read. I've read numerous retellings relating in one way or another to Peter and the characters surrounding him. I have fallen in love with reiteration after reiteration from the time I was four years old, devouring all I could about the realm of Neverland and the boy, Peter, who managed to inspire in me a feeling little else has. I've critiqued and judged and enjoyed and recommended. The Wendy, by far, is my favorite and it is all due to Wendy, herself. Our heroine begins her story, a young girl of ten, with a dream. In a world where women are looked down upon and shoved into the cookie cutter expectations of their gender by men who could not possibly even begin to understand the sheer strength and character a woman has, Wendy perseveres. The degree of respect Wendy both earns and demands as she develops throughout the novel is truly inspiring. She shows strength, wit, determination, and fight that never once leaves her. At every turn she takes her society's preconceived opinion of her and turns it on its head. There is no question in my mind to the fact that Wendy outshines every other character in this novel. And the best thing about this is that the other characters are exceptional. They are weaved into the story with the perfect mix of originality and similarity, paying homage to Barrie's story in the best way possible. The introduction of each character is done brilliantly, from the perfectly captured persona of Peter himself to the endearingly villainous James Hook and even further to John, Michael, and Nana whom were all so perfect I wasn't even aware that I needed to read their characters this way until I did. They all felt real and full of depth, even and especially those who weren't a part of the original tale. And it is here I must admit my love for Olaudah Equiano (or Gustavo's Vassa) and implore everyone to read the Acknowledgements once they've reached the end of this chapter in Wendy Darling's tale. Not only is it enlightening, but it is heart warming and quite respectable on the part of the authors. I was thoroughly pleased and excited about it. Beneath all of these beautifully developed and amazing characters is a plot more engaging than most. Anyone who knows the tale of Peter Pan would expect that they know where the story is headed at one point or another and I am pleased to report that Sky and Brown keep us on our toes in the most exciting of ways. Wendy thrives in the events of her story, making decisions most unexpected and impressive. I wouldn't have had it any other way. So, now that I have thoroughly expressed my adoration for what is sure to be the best novel I read all year, my end advice is that everyone immediately go procure a copy for themselves. Believe me, The Wendy is well worth the read.
Jantine 6 days ago
I grew up with the Disney-version of Peter Pan. This retelling is much different, off course. I love how it used several things I knew. I cannot say if it took many things from the original, because I never read it - mental note, read Peter Pan! The angle of women's rights and misoginy was a pretty awesome one!
JenLaRowe 30 days ago
The Wendy was a fun and exciting reimagining of the Peter Pan many have grown up with. Wendy is portraying as a strong, ambitious, independent young woman with lofty goals. She will do anything she can to achieve her goals and the supporting characters are familiar from the original Peter Pan. I highly recommend this to adult and YA readers who are ready to absorb an adventurous journey that is a fast read that will leave you wanting more. 4.5 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was better than the original, Thanks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The beginning was great, especially the introduction of Pan. However, I would have liked some more originality rather than sticking right by the story that we already know. Personally, I thought Pan was a little too childish to be considered a love interest. The style of story telling, while different, was overall good. It didn't create a chasm between the readers and the characters as sometimes happens. The wings were very appreciated. Most notable, was that I had some moments when I was making exclamations out loud, as I sincerely enjoyed the book. The main reason I didn't give this book was the last third or so of the book. Things were supposed to be at a climax but it still felt slow. The ending was good, but I wanted a bit more deviation from the tale we already know.