The Wendy

The Wendy

by Erin Michelle Sky, Steven Brown

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.49 $6.99 Save 7% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $6.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

One of This Year’s Hottest New YA Series — Goodreads

When the world doesn't want
you to be who you are,
you must become more yourself
than you knew you could be.

London. 1789. More than anything in the world, Wendy Darling wants to be the captain of a ship, but women aren't allowed in the Royal Navy. When she learns the Home Office is accepting a handful of women into its ranks, she jumps at the chance, joining the fight against the most formidable threat England has ever faced. Magic.

But the secret service isn’t exactly what she hoped. Accompanied by a reimagined cast of the original Peter Pan, Wendy soon discovers that her dreams are as far away as ever, that choosing sides isn’t as simple as she thought, and that the only man who isn't blinded by her gender ... might be her nation's greatest enemy.

Praise for The Wendy, by Erin Michelle Sky & Steven Brown:

“All the markings of a classic … captivating and delightful.”Lydia Sherrer, USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Love, Lies & Hocus Pocus

“This is a strong retelling of Peter Pan, with an empowered female protagonist who carves her own path. Wendy’s sharp wit is truly impressive.”School Library Journal

“From page one right up to the end, The Wendy held me enthralled.”Readers’ Favorite

"WOW! Just WOW! I think this is my favorite book of 2018 so far! It was amazing, amazing, amazing.E.J. Hill, Letters to You

"(P)ick it up and begin a great adventure! I DARE YOU!!! If you think you know the story of Wendy, Peter Pan and the Lost Boys, you will find that you never did, until now! You will not regret the time you give to this most entertaining tale of Peter, Windy and all of the others, from Captain "Hook" to Smee, to Nana and the lads. Five stars is not enough! Straight on until morning!!!Caius Fabius, Goodreads

Fans of Brigid Kemmerer's A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Gena Showalter's The Evil Queen and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone will love the rip-rollicking adventure, fantasy and historical elements of The Tales of the Wendy by Dragon Authors Steven Brown and Erin Michelle Sky.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781946137074
Publisher: Trash Dogs Media LLC
Publication date: 01/16/2018
Series: Tales of the Wendy , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 294
Sales rank: 198,535
File size: 7 MB
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

As a child, Steven read anything he could get his hands on, sharing his favorite stories with his younger brothers and then acting them out, especially if this required sword fighting on horseback. When they ran out of books, he wrote his own, including his brothers as the main characters by sketching illustrations on magazine clippings.

Meanwhile, Erin fell in love with llamas and with the books of Anne McCaffrey, whose Dragonriders of Pern series inspired her to become a writer. When she finally met Anne McCaffrey at a fantasy convention some two decades later, she wept uncontrollably throughout the entire affair. She does significantly better with llamas.

Together, they are Dragon Authors, writing science fiction and fantasy for teens and adults. Their short fiction has been published in the Hugo-nominated Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine. The first volume of their newest series, Tales of the Wendy, was named by Goodreads as one of the hottest new YA series of 2018.

Fans of Tales of the Wendy describe their writing as "fresh, descriptive,""witty and clever," reminiscent of the "writing style of The Princess Bride," with twists that are "crazy and perfect."

You can find Erin and Steven (aka The Dragon Authors) at https://dragonauthors.com/bookwyrms/, or on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube as @DragonAuthors.

Customer Reviews