The Valley of Silent Men

The Valley of Silent Men

by James Oliver Curwood
4.3 3


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, September 27 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Valley of Silent Men by James Oliver Curwood

James Kent has learned that he is terminally ill with perhaps only days to live, and so decides to confess to a murder and thus save an innocent man. Nobody believes his confession, particularly Marette, a mysterious girl who had shown up at Athabasca Landing only weeks before. Kent's illness takes a turn and his death is postponed, and he sets about to find out more about the girl, who he ends up falling in love with, although she'll not reveal her past to him, nor what she knows about the murder. A story of intrigue, suspense, action, and above all, a story of love in the furthest outreaches of the Great White North where three great rivers flow; the Athabasca, the Slave, and the McKenzie, and where somewhere is hidden The Valley of Silent Men.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781975617387
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 08/23/2017
Pages: 184
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

About The Author
American author James Oliver Curwood (1878 -1927) wrote action-adventure novels and his bestsellers were among the most read books in America in the 1900s. More than a dozen Hollywood films have been based on his frontier novels including "The Bear."
Curwood was both a writer and conservationist. His books ranked among Publisher's Weekly top-ten best sellers in the United States in the early 1920s. At the time of his death, he was the highest paid (per word) author in the world. His writing studio, Curwood Castle, is now a museum in Owosso, Michigan.
James Oliver Curwood's books Include:
1. The Courage of Captain Plum -1908
2. The Wolf Hunters - 1908
3. The Gold Hunters - 1909
4. The Danger Trail - 1910
5. The Honor of the Big Snows -1911
6. Steele of the Royal Mounted -1911
7. The Flower of the North -1912
8. Isobel: A Romance of the Northern Trail or Icebound Hearts -1913
9. God's Country and the Woman -1915
10. The Hunted Woman -1916
11. The Grizzly King -1916
12. The Courage of Marge O'Doone -1918
13. Nomads of the North - 1919
14. The River's End - 1919
15. Back to God's Country and Other Stories -1920
16. The Valley of Silent Men - 1920
17. God's Country - The Trail to Happiness -1921
18. The Golden Snare -1921
19. The Flaming Forest -1921
20. The Country Beyond - 1922

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Valley Of Silent Men (Large Print Edition) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Michael_Trueblood More than 1 year ago
My first book review, ever. This book is part of a trilogy by James Oliver Curwood. The other books are "The River's End" and "The Flaming Forest." I've read all of them, and I recommend all of them. They take place in the 1920s (give or take). Probably intended for teen-aged boys. They take place in the Canadian northwest. They are adventure stories/love stories. The writing is very good, and paints a vivid picture of the rivers and forests of the great north. The characters are well developed. The heroes are very idealistic for today's world, but the good guys are good, and the bad guys are bad. I read "The River's End" as a teenager, and finally read "The Valley of Silent Men" forty years later.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kiss you lightly on the cheek and whisper into your ear that I love to dance
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As do i.