We Come to Our Senses: Stories

We Come to Our Senses: Stories

by Odie Lindsey

Hardcover

$25.47 $25.95 Save 2% Current price is $25.47, Original price is $25.95. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

We Come to Our Senses: Stories by Odie Lindsey

For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.
Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story “Evie M.” is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in “We Come to Our Senses,” a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in “Colleen” a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in “11/19/98” a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story “Hers” is about the sexual politics of a combat zone.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780393249606
Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 07/26/2016
Pages: 208
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Odie Lindsey’s stories have appeared in Best American Short Stories,
the Iowa Review, Columbia, and the anthology Forty Stories,
among others. A veteran, he lives in Nashville.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews