Ashes to Ashes

Ashes to Ashes

by Melissa Walker

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Ashes to Ashes by Melissa Walker

A timeless and romantic ghost story that will haunt readers long after the last page is turned.

When Callie's life is cut short by a tragic accident in her hometown of Charleston, South Carolina, her spirit travels to another dimension called the Prism. Here she meets a striking and mysterious ghost named Thatcher, who guides her as she learns how to bring peace to those she left behind. But Callie soon uncovers a dark secret about the spirit world: some of the souls in it are angry, and they desperately want revenge. These souls are willing to do whatever it takes to stay on Earth, threatening the existence of everyone she ever cared about.

Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman's If I Stay and Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall, this thoughtful and suspenseful novel will have readers eager to read the sequel, Dust to Dust.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062077356
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/05/2015
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 745,262
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Melissa Walker grew up in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, and is the author of eight young adult novels, including the Violet on the Runway series and Small Town Sinners. In the nonfiction world, she is a magazine editor and writer who works from the comfort of coffee shops in Brooklyn, where she lives with her husband and two young daughters. Find Melissa on Twitter @melissacwalker or visit www.melissacwalker.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ashes to Ashes 2.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Suzie_Beth17 More than 1 year ago
Love this story.  Like the whole idea of prism.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
    I wasn't expecting to enjoy Ashes to Ashes as much as I did, so I am very glad I was sent a review copy. I read some of Melissa's other books, but they seemed so different, and I felt like I was done with ghost stories, but this had a spin that I enjoyed.      I enjoyed Callie, and wanted to know why she was special, having all of the energy, clear memories and emotions when she first crossed into the Prism, and I was curious about the mysterious Thatcher. There is also another group that does not want to move on to Solace, the version of heaven per Thatcher in this book.    The grief and emotions jump off the page, and while it seems it would be a completely down book, there are plenty of lighter moments and even flashbacks to get some romance and bestie time.      What I also appreciate is the message--you don't know if you will have another day, another chance to speak to the people you love, and she was looking back wishing that her and her father would have been closer, and that once we die, there is no way to fix that, so focus on what is important.      One thing that bothered me was some repetition of the rules and facts about Prism where different people says different things about what is okay or not, what you're supposed to do or not. And then there are details that I felt should have been given a tad earlier to avoid said repetition. If we had more info, the why, how, etc then it wouldn't be like, oh here's the rule again, and no reason behind it.      I figured out the twist before I got there as well as a few other details that maybe should have been more mysterious, but it didn't take away my enjoyment, and this is a series that I will continue with. Besides my affirmed suspicions about the end, they did a good job wrapping things up and stopped at a point that definitely made me wonder where exactly the series will go next, and wanting more.  Bottom Line: Good, fast read even if a bit predictable. 
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
  After seeing in another synopsis that this would be reminiscent of Ghost (the movie), I was really excited for this one. And upon further reading of that same synopsis, I saw that it was "perfect for fans of If I Stay by Gayle Forman" and I became really, REALLY excited for it. But unfortunately when I started reading it, I just couldn't get into it. This one was just a big disappoint for me.      One reason I didn't like it was it just seemed to be way too young to be YA. I understand that she was dead, but really, your snarkiness just made it seem stupid. I quit laughing at what you were saying and just started rolling my eyes in the first 10%. It's really unfortunate because I don't remember her other novel being like that.      But then there is the plot. I was really upset because I was looking for something completely different and this is not what I got. It was basically all about how she was so in love with her boyfriend from 1-7%, then how she died at 8%, and then 8-40% was just about the good and evil in the Prism. And it got boring rather quickly. I stopped at 40% and just skimmed the rest of the way. I just needed to know what it was that her boyfriend was keeping from her to see if my suspicions were correct, but that's all that I really cared about lol       I think I'm most disappointed because I loved her first novel and I was expecting this to be more like the movie and book that I loved. I guess that's why you never trust anything that says "based on,' or "for fans of," or "like ______ meets _____." You're more than likely always going to end up disappointed smh