Beyond The Veil (Veil Series #1)

Beyond The Veil (Veil Series #1)

by Pippa Dacosta

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The Veil Series starts here. Reviewers say; "Epic!" "A spectacular series!" "Best series EVER!" And it's now complete!

If your ex is the Prince of Greed, you'd better be ready to raze Hell.

Half demon, Charlie Henderson, is living a lie. Her real name is Muse, and her attempt at a normal life is about to go up in smoke.

After an assassin tries to kill her, leaving a trail of destruction in his wake, Muse must return to the one man she hoped never to see again and ask for help. The Prince of Greed isn't known for his charity. His price is high and the cost could tear her apart.

Trapped between a scheming Prince of Hell and an assassin with ulterior motives, Muse must embrace the demon inside her if she has any hope of surviving them both.

Complex characters, original, and twists galore. The phenomenal Veil Series is an action-packed, gritty urban fantasy for fans of Ilona Andrews, Lilith Saintcrow, and Jeaniene Frost.

***

Praise for 'Beyond The Veil' - #1 The Veil Series.

"This emotional, supernatural novel keeps up a brisk pace without leaving the reader behind... A solid start to the series." ~ Publishers Weekly.

"Reminiscent of Jessica Jones... Exciting, sexy, psychologically acute." ~ Kirkus

"Action-packed, raw urban fantasy that's edgy and eclectic." ~ Amazon reviewer.

"This is a fantastic book, and one of my new favorites! ...a brilliant and original (urban fantasy) tale, entwined with a fascinating element of romance. I am eager to dive into the next book in the series to see what happens with these fantastic characters." ~ Moonrise Book Blog

"I almost cried. It was THAT heart-wrenching." ~ Nocturnal Predators Reviews

"Steamy and sensual in places whilst heartrending and profoundly poignant & deep in others." ~ Amazon reviewer.

"Beyond the Veil has everything you want in a good urban fantasy read... Muse is a great main character, that is "real". She is fast becoming one of my fave heroines. And what can I say of the men, but sexy alpha men are my weakness and this one has two!" ~ Night Owl Reviews

Genre: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance
Sub-Genre: Demons.

The Veil Series Reading List

Wings of Hope (Prequel novella)

Beyond The Veil (#1)

Devil May Care (#2)

Darkest Before Dawn (#3)

Drowning In The Dark (#4)

Ties That Bind (#5)

Also in the Veil World:

Chaos Rises
Chaos Unleashed
Chaos Falls

Product Details

BN ID: 2940163100453
Publisher: Pippa DaCosta
Publication date: 11/07/2019
Series: Veil Series , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 10,195
File size: 546 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Beyond The Veil 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
Mollien More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in a five part series. The last book is about to be released. I read this book awhile ago and fell in love with these characters. Muse is half demon half human. She has been living in Boston working in her metal shop where not only does she make beautiful things with metal, but she can read past events that the metal has come in contact with. Hiding as a human she has kept a very low profile until a beautiful blond in a long red leather coat named Stefan blows up her metal shop and tries to kill her. With no place to go, she seeks refuge from the person she has been hiding from, Akil, The Prince of Greed. Things are not what the seem in this fast paced action packed story where good and evil cross and criss cross again. Muse doesn't know who to trust anymore. Akil, the demon that taught her how to be human or the icy blond Stefan, who not only tried to blow her up, but is more like her that she knows.
CaryMorganFrates More than 1 year ago
Muse is treated like a freak by her family, and a child by the very dangerous man who protects her. While she thinks she has found a niche in which she can lead a life of her own choosing, circumstances are about to blow that false sense of security all to…Hell.  I enjoyed this tale. Fast-paced and full of surprises, it will keep you turning the pages with heart-pounding tension/angst/drama/delight. The characters and situations are well drawn, and the story itself imaginative and unpredictable. Well done.  A complimentary copy provided by author/publisher for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always love authors offering a free read b/c it allows me to discover true talent and a new authors to add to my favorites. That being said, this was awesome. A great paranormal, unique and left me with difficulty deciding to put down to eat or finish reading. Loved it and now I am going to purchase the series b/c this is definitely my cup of tea. Need I say more? You'll love it too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When it comes to demons this has to be one of the best I have read in years.
bookchewingbunny More than 1 year ago
Excellent book.  The writing is excellent proofreading very good.  No goofs.  Story very riviting.  Characters are captivating.  I couldnt put it down.  Was up late reading.  Getting the rest of the series cant wait to start.   So good. 
LanieA More than 1 year ago
I received this book through the first reads giveaway on GR.  First off, the cover is absolutely beautiful and fits Muse perfectly. Everything on the cover has significance in the story.  I fell in love with this book from the beginning. You jump right into Muses life as soon as you start reading, it's extremely easy to follow. Mrs.DaCosta provides info and gives tons of details as each scene unfolds so there isn't any info dumping:). The characters themselves are incredible, there is a ton of detail as to what they look like, both in human and demon form to really give you a good sense of them. Her characters are anything but flat. Muse is a perfectly imperfect character, there is no illusions of her perfection, strength or beauty in this book. She's definitely relateable and has so many dimensions to her, she grows and develops as the story moves along. The insanely attractive and playful leading men are both alphas, but couldn't be more polar opposite of each other.  Beyond The Veil is very well written and balanced. There aren't any inconsistencies in the story, or info dumping, and the plot is very strong. All of Muses relationships develop naturally, we aren't rushed into believing she suddenly falls in love with some guy! The ending has left me wanting more, I'm thrilled the next installment will be out soon:D!  I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone that enjoys any type of fantasy or is just looking for a different type of story. It's definitely worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Demons, kickbutt heroine, sexy guys. Loved it. On to the next one. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don%27t+turn+another+page+until+you+have+all+5+books+ready+to+read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kick butt main characters. Alittle bit of everything thrown in. Well written.
Jane_V_Blanchard More than 1 year ago
Kudos to Pippa DaCosta for writing the well-crafted paranormal romance Beyond the Veil. The story written in the first person grabbed me from the beginning and did not let go. I just could not put this book down. Charlie "Muse" Henderson is half human and half demon trying to fit in a world that does not want her. Lied to from birth, who can she trust? She escaped the netherworld and her "masters" to live in Boston. There, she managed to suppress her demon half for five years until someone tried to kill her. Who was behind her attacks? Who unleashed the hellhounds upon her? Who could she believe? You'll want to keep turning the pages to find out more. I love books with a strong feminist protagonist. As Muse starts to accept both halves of herself, she gains strength and self-acceptance and is an example for all who are different. I highly recommend Beyond The Veil by Pippa DaCosta for lovers of paranormal romance. This is the first in the Veil series and I'm looking forward to the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this and look forward to reading the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I no longer prefer romance fantasy or sci fi, I can still appreciate good writing. This is most def good writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just finished the 5th book... I love this series!! I couldn't stop reading. Worth every penny!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. Captivating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good read. And the rest of the series