Life Descending (The Cry of Havoc, Book 1)

Life Descending (The Cry of Havoc, Book 1)

by John Hennessy

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Life Descending (The Cry of Havoc, Book 1) by John Hennessy

War, plague, and mad kings promise to rip the world of Leterra asunder.

With the memories of a loyal Scout for the Northern Army, Tom Navo endures to wrap up one last brutal assignment, with dreams of living out a peaceful life with his family. As chaos threatens the continent, his imagined life becomes more of a fanciful illusion. A journey home soon becomes a fight for his life, a search for a mysterious and powerful relic only rumored to exist, and a firsthand account of how greed and delusion can make humans do the unspeakable. Surrounded by the most unlikely of friends, Tom faces challenges that he never could have conceived of even in his most twisted nightmares, not just for his own sake, but for the survival of an entire world, whose future teeters perilously on the brink of doom . . . before all life descends into shadow.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940044703186
Publisher: John Hennessy
Publication date: 07/04/2012
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 509,724
File size: 851 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Born in 1988, John Hennessy became entranced by the world of fantasy and sci-fi at a young age, playing video games and reading books for many long nights/early mornings. He started writing his debut novel Life Descending during his junior year of High School in 2005. He wanted to write something different for fantasy readers, something without any stock copy/paste characters, supreme evil lords, who you never see and who are just evil because they are evil. A story without class-defined skills, mana potions, and the usual D&D adventure group out on the same old quest. He wanted to write a new story that gets away from the stale fantasies with farmer boys, blacksmith apprentices, and peasants who turn world heroes. Oh yeah, and he really wanted to get away from stories with prophecies and 'chosen ones.'After he graduated from Western Washington University in 2011, he hired Sara Stamey, the editing/publishing professor at Western, edit Life Descending (The Cry of Havoc, Book 1), finally releasing his debut after six years of crafting, learning, rewriting, and absorbing caffeine as fuel so he could stay awake at the keyboard. Life Descending has since been praised by reviewers, even earning a finalist spot in ForeWord Magazine's 2011 Book of the Year Awards. Darkness Devouring (The Cry of Havoc, Book 2) has since been released in late 2012.In 2012 he released At the End (The Road to Extinction, Book 1) as a self-published book. Having spent all his cash on Life Descending (sadly without return), the book went unedited by a professional editor. Despite this major flaw, At the End was well received by most. In February 2013, Permuted Press approached him with an offer to re-release At the End and publish the rest of the trilogy. A second edition of At the End (fully edited!) is forthcoming 2013.John now lives in the Rose Lands of Portland, Oregon, with his wife Katherine, their furry feline Phoebe, and their two budgies Lola and Pablo. He is now at work finishing The Road to Extinction Trilogy. Visit his website at:

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Life Descending (The Cry of Havoc, Book 1) 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
pamkaye More than 1 year ago
Hearing voices, Tom Navo decides to kill himself after murdering his boss. After stepping off the roof of a high rise, he changes his mind. He rescues himself only to die in another way. But did he really die or did someone swoop in from another planet and take him. Tom finds himself in a room. It looks like heaven's waiting room. Once again he hears voices, they are telling him what afterlife door to pick. When he picks his door, he is dropped into a stranglehold with talking animals. Anakor'in is a human turned lizard. He has magic powers that he somehow makes Tom forget his old life, and gives him all new memories for the world he is now in. Tom goes on an errand for Anakor'in, which starts his adventure. I really liked the story and concept of this book. The characters are likable and well detailed. Some of the author's wordplay was lame. Such as changing day to circuit (then using terms like tocircuit, birthcircuit, etc.). I would recommend this to teenagers who like science fiction/fantasy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I reviewed this book right after I purchased book #2. I will not rewrite it but if you want to read ot cjeck out the reviews for book#2. Sorry for the mix up. Im off to read book #2 now. This is a good read. :) Sanna7125