One Night

One Night

by Deanna Cabinian

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Overview

Thompson may be only seventeen but he knows he’s just checked into Heartbreak Hotel for good, now that his girlfriend, Caroline, has put an end to their burning love. Since then he’s been sleepwalking through his summer job at Super Kmart while desperately dreaming of ways to win her back. He even drops by the Tiki House on Elvis Presley Night hoping that she, a diehard fan of the “King of Rock ‘n’ Roll,” will be there as well. That’s when he meets Johnny Lee Young—real estate agent by day, Hawaii’s Favorite Elvis Impersonator by night—and the lovesick teen’s world suddenly takes a wild and unexpected turn.

As luck would have it, Johnny needs a temporary assistant to help with equipment and social media and Thompson eagerly accepts the offer, hoping it will distract him from his painful and lingering romantic issues. But like Thompson, Johnny is nursing a secret heartbreak and pining for his own lost love. So the new roadie starts making plans—with a little help from his friends Ronnie and Greta—to accompany the counterfeit King on an odyssey of a lifetime that will take them far from their island paradise home in search of true love.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780997591613
Publisher: Deanna Milojkovic
Publication date: 09/07/2016
Pages: 306
Product dimensions: 5.24(w) x 7.99(h) x 0.69(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One Night 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Lauren817 More than 1 year ago
Deanna Cabinian's One Night was pitched to me as "coming-of-age novel set in Hawaii" that "appeals to fans of Paper Towns." As someone who loves Paper Towns (and exotic settings because again I live in northeast PA, there's nothing exotic about that), I quickly moved One Night up the top of my TBR pile. As it turns out, that description couldn't have been more accurate. The easiest way for me to describe this book? A John Green book meets a Hawaii setting with a lot of Elvis thrown in. And, quite simply, I enjoyed every single minute of it! My favorite aspect of this One Night? The characters. Thompson is suffering from his first-ever, listen-to-sad-songs and stew-about-the-good-times heartbreak. It isn't going to well for him, which is how he ends up at the Tiki House the night that Johnny Lee Young, an Elvis impersonator, performs, hoping - but really praying - to see Caroline, his horrible yet still frighteningly addictive ex-girlfriend. Instead of seeing Caroline he befriends Johnny, whose rendition of Elvis' Hurt drastically changes the course of Thompson's summer. From the first page, I was captured by Thompson's story. His voice was funny (the scenes about Super Kmart and his interactions with his friends always had me laughing out loud!) as well as charming. It was incredibly easy to relate to his heartbreak. Because really, who of us hasn't been there, especially in high school? At the start of the book, Thompson has such a pure, innocent view of lost love, believing that maybe if you just try and make that big leap, it will all come back together again. As the book progresses, Thompson learns that this big lost loves aren't the ultimate end all, and sometimes, as the songs go, goodbye is the only way. I loved seeing that transformation occur with him....it was the ultimate coming-of-age. I also enjoyed the friendships and relationships he cultivated over the course of this book, especially the one with Johnny. It was cool to see that even with the large age gap, Johnny and Thompson still had a lot to teach it other, and in some ways it was like a big brother/little brother relationship. Thompson pushed Johnny to think with his heart while Johnny brought Thompson back down to reality regarding certain things. It was a great dynamic! The plot mainly revolved around heartbreak and learning how to move on. I'm always a little weary of heartbreak books, because they can go the good, normal, lets heal route or they can go the whiny, drastic, stalkery route. Thankfully, this book went the good route, having Thompson go through the normal steps of the break-up process, and I found it to be pitch-perfect realistic. Throughout I was cheering Thompson to move on and learn to love his life again and maybe, just maybe, consider a relationship with his super nice and adorable coworker. I also enjoyed the little mystery of Johnny's first love. There was so many ways it could have gone, and throughout I just kept wondering what was exactly going to happen. But the ending with that part? Perfect and well thought out! In all, One Night by Deanna Cabinian is a great YA debut, great for fans of John Green and Maureen Johnson. I simply can't wait to see what Deanna writes next! Grade: B+
WhisperingStories More than 1 year ago
A thoroughly modern coming-of-age YA novel with a retro twist. We’re transported to Hawaii with the rather wonderfully named Thompson Lake as he follows an Elvis impersonator to Chicago on a quest to mend a broken heart. Thompson is a high school student who’s looking to reconcile with his ex-girlfriend (notably his first love), Elvis-mad Caroline. On a mission to accidentally-on-purpose bump into Caroline on a night out, he meets Johnny Lee Young, one of Hawaii’s hottest Elvis impersonators. Johnny’s undeniably handsome, popular and talented but – like Thompson – he hasn’t got the girl either. Together, Thompson and Johnny plan a trip to Chicago as Thompson decides to help Johnny reunite with his own ex-girlfriend, Molly. Cue new relationships, adventures and a lot of growing up in amongst Facebook stalking, heartache and countless renditions of “Suspicious Minds”. At the heart of One Night, underneath the constant references to YouTube, Facebook statuses and Nike trainers, there’s the timeless elements of love, family and identity, which culminate in a fabulously funny scene in a church in Chicago as Johnny and Thompson sort-of crash a wedding… Overall, I really enjoyed how Cabinian managed to weave together a story full of parallels and contrasts. We get the similarities between two apparently very different characters. We also get very YA-friendly references to tech, popular brands and social media throughout crossed with Elvis songs, which actually work really well together. They emphasise the timelessness of the plot, which is concerned with relationships between different generations. Set in front of an idyllic Hawaiian backdrop, One Night is a thoroughly entertaining read.
ReadingFury More than 1 year ago
One Night was great fun to read! Soon-to-be high school senior Thompson Lake has been humiliated by his girlfriend, but he loves her and wants her back anyway. In an attempt to meet with her again, he is willing to do anything, even go to an Elvis impersonator show that his ex might be attending. Thompson goes looking for the girl but winds up with a real adventure and his own personal Elvis. Aside from Thompson’s woes, there is a great parallel story of love gone awry and the constant tug of “what if. . ?” Johnny Lee, the Elvis impersonator, provides a fresh take on both the real Elvis and the façade. Whether aged 17 or 32 or older, a broken heart hurts. Is closure needed or perhaps one wild last chance? Thompson’s adventure takes him from Honolulu to Chicago and back. Along the way there are pizza flights, plane flights, and flights of the heart. Aside from the bittersweet yet funny plot, there's some great background color -- ever have the joy of standing in the checkout line at the Super K-Mart, Target, Walmart, fill in the blank, and witnessing the craziness of other customers? Imagine being the poor clerk trying to deal, as Thompson and his co-workers do. This teenaged boy is no sulky Holden Caulfield. Thompson wants to embrace life at all levels, even one as simple as on the sly junk food binging as a counterbalance to his mom's all organic diet. He is a healthy risk taker and aware that he needs personal growth--overall a genuinely likeable character. He and his friends are believable, and their prototypes may have sat at your dinner table. I was so amused and engaged that I read this I one day. While I am not the biggest Elvis fan, this novel helped me understand what he meant to so many people. For anyone who has ever heard a song that sparks a memory about a loved one, this book will resonate beautifully. Now I plan to go listen to some Elvis and revisit the pleasure this novel gave me. I was given a free copy for an honest review.
BooksDirect More than 1 year ago
While trying to win back with his Elvis-loving ex-girlfriend Caroline, Thompson meets Elvis impersonator Johnny Lee Young, and he lands a summer job as his assistant. Between working his job at Super Kmart and helping out Johnny, Thompson's got a busy summer ahead. Somewhere along the way, Thompson changes his focus from Caroline and makes it his mission to reunite Johnny with his one true love - with a bit of help from his friends Ronnie and Greta. Throw in a road - or should I say, air - trip, and Thompson's life is about to change for good. Thompson, as our narrator, has an engaging, easy-going tone, and the author manages to perfectly capture the voice of a teenage boy. The book is full of great support characters, including Thompson's "gangsta" friend Ronnie, his health-food-freak mother, his colorful co-worker Greta, his creepy co-worker Rob, Johnny's sweet Nonna, and - of course - Johnny himself. The author has a great ability to describe people using few words; this talent for people-watching is especially apparent during the trip to Chicago. Johnny's past romantic relationship parallels Thompson's own relationship with Caroline, and it's nice to see how Thompson grows through his summer experience and comes out the other side a better person. It's also a nice change to read a young adult book wholly from the boy's point of view. I had never heard the feature song "Hurt", so I've discovered something new. And I now have a whole new appreciation for Elvis impersonators. A thoroughly enjoyable read. I received this book in return for an honest review. Full blog post (14 September): https://booksdirectonline.blogspot.com/2016/09/one-night-by-deanna-cabinian.html