The Crown's Fate

The Crown's Fate

by Evelyn Skye

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Want it by Monday, November 19 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062422620
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/17/2018
Series: Crown's Game Series , #2
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 80,490
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Evelyn Skye was once offered a job by the CIA, she not-so-secretly wishes she was on So You Think You Can Dance, and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When she isn’t writing, Evelyn can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies. She is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Crown’s Game and its sequel, The Crown's Fate. Evelyn can be found online at www.evelynskye.com and on Twitter @EvelynSkyeYA.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Crown's Fate (Crown's Game Series #2) 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Shawscribbles More than 1 year ago
I devoured the first book in this series and jumped right into the second. I have to say the second installment is far darker than the first one. Nikolai's character, in particular, is harder to engage with as he spirals downward. I often find that second and subsequent books in a series don't engage me in the same way as the original does. I don't know if it's because the newness has worn off or I've already imagined other endings for the characters. This sequel did satisfy me though and I felt a certain sense of closer at the end. Great series - I recommend you give it a go!
Taylor_FrayedBooks More than 1 year ago
I am a sucker for historical fiction and this book did not disappoint! It is the culmination of a duology that is set in imperial Russia and it is enchanting from the start. I found the main characters to work really well together and their inner struggles were heartwrenching. Nikolai is such a misunderstood character, in my opinion, and he is just looking for some sort of validation throughout the book. Vika complements him perfectly and their relationships with Pasha create a 'war' between the trio that truly keeps everyone guessing. The combination of history and fiction brought this book to life and I would recommend it for anyone who is a fan of the genre!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where to start. Hmm. The first book in this series I LOVED TO DEATH! It was full of magic and excitement in the plot and characters. So, when I heard this book was coming out I was SUPER DUPER excited for it. At first, I came on here and looked at the reviews, and they weren't so great, but, HEY I gave it a shot anyway. At first there was a good start, and then it started to get boring. A lot of people have said that the action is so good in this book and it is. But, this book just had a touch of yawns to it. I started zoning off and I wanted to do anything but read, unfortunately. And towards the middle and end I started scimming through the pages! I feel so ashamed to say that! But, it's true, nonetheless. O Overall, this book was probably just too hyped for me and I was going into it thinking it was a bad book, which most likely was the problem. I really hope you enjoy or enjoyed this book, and I'm sorry that I didn't.
brittanysbookrambles More than 1 year ago
This book should come with a warning label that says: Don't start before bedtime. Because you won't be able to stop yourself from reading it all the way through. I have no regrets about staying up past 3AM just to finish it, and I'm so thrilled that my first book of 2017 was this one. It was truly everything I wanted it to be, and so much more. Going into this book, I thought I was relatively prepared for what was to unfold. I was expecting beautiful displays of magic, some angst, more romance, and tons of feels. BUT what I wasn't at all prepared for was all the action, as well as how utterly dark this book gets. To all of those people who said they wanted more action from The Crown's Game, you get your wish in this sequel! Also, tears. You get lots of those too. Overall, just know that Evelyn has stepped up her game, so prepare to be wowed.
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Crown's Fate by Evelyn Skye Book Two of The Crown's Game series Publisher: Balzer + Bray Publication Date: May 16, 2017 Rating: 1 star Source: eARC from Edelweiss Summary (from Goodreads): Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown’s Fate is the thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Crown’s Game, an atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia. Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected. Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom. For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world. With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves. What I Liked: FULL DISCLOSURE: this may end up being a rant, more than anything else. I'm sorry, but I'm not really sorry at all. ALSO: I will try my best to avoid major spoilers. But I'm pretty pissed off right now, even though it's been over an hour since I read the book (as I'm sitting here, typing this review), and I'm going to just let out all of the frustration and irritation and see how it goes. This is the sequel to The Crown's Game, a book that I didn't really enjoy but sort of wanted to know more about (i.e. read the sequel). I hated the useless, obnoxious love triangle, I hated Pasha, and I just wasn't feeling the book. I was really hoping this conclusion novel would be better for me. Spoiler alert: it wasn't. This sequel picks up a little after The Crown's Game concludes. Nikolai is trapped in the in-between, Vika is now bound to obey any order of Pasha's or Yuliana's, since she is now the Imperial Enchanter, Pasha continues to be a whiny, spoiled boy who doesn't deserve to be tsar, and Yuliana continues to slay (and to me, she should be tsarina and Pasha should go eat poo). But Nikolai escapes the in-between, but at a price: a darkness sweeps through him, and he finds that all he wants to do is kill Pasha and become the true and rightful tsar. A revolt was already in motion, but with the turmoil that Nikolai stirs up, a war that will divide Russia is set to explode. Probably the only two positives of this book are (1) Vika ends up with the "right" guy. Don't even argue with me about this, ____ fangirls/fanboys. We all know who she should (and does) end up with. And (2) I read this book really quickly. I skimmed towards the end, but it's an easy book to read. What I Did Not Like: Heeeeeere we go. Maybe I should number them, to make it easier on myself? (1) The love triangle... Read the rest of my review on my blog, The Eater of Books! - eaterofbooks DOT blogspot DOT com :)