The Ill-Made Mute - Special Edition: The Bitterbynde Book #1

The Ill-Made Mute - Special Edition: The Bitterbynde Book #1

by Cecilia Dart-Thornton
The Ill-Made Mute - Special Edition: The Bitterbynde Book #1

The Ill-Made Mute - Special Edition: The Bitterbynde Book #1

by Cecilia Dart-Thornton


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 28
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


THE ILL-MADE MUTE - SPECIAL EDITION The Bitterbynde Trilogy #1 Revised and extended, with extras never before published, including information about Ms Dart-Thornton's life as an author and fragments of her unpublished juvenilia. 'The Stormriders land their splendid winged stallions on the airy battlements of Isse Tower. Far below, the superstitious servants who dwell in the fortress's lower depths tell tales of wicked creatures inhabiting the world outside, a world they have only glimpsed. 'Yet it is the least of the lowly - a mute, scarred, and utterly despised foundling - who dares to scale the Tower, sneak aboard a Windship, and then dive from the sky. 'The fugitive is rescued by an adventurer who gives it a name, the gift of communicating by handspeak, and an amazing truth, never guessed. Now Imrhien begins a journey to distant Caermelor, seeking a wise woman whose skills may be lifechanging. Along the way Imrhien must survive a wilderness of endless danger. For the hearthside tales are all true. The unhuman wights are real in all their legions. They haunt every pool, every turn in the road, and threaten and torment all travelers.' Author Cecilia Dart-Thornton was discovered on the Internet. She had written the three books of the Bitterbynde Trilogy before she uploaded the first chapter to a Writers' Workshop, where her work was spotted by an editor. Shortly afterwards Time-Warner's publishing department (New York) offered her a contract. They published her books in hardcover, the first time they had ever done so with a new author. The Bitterbynde Trilogy hit the best-seller lists world-wide and has been translated into five languages.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781925110531
Publisher: Quillpen Pty Ltd t/a Leaves of Gold Press
Publication date: 04/10/2014
Series: Bitterbynde Trilogy Series , #1
Pages: 508
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.13(d)

About the Author

Cecilia Dart-Thornton is the author of numerous bestselling fantasy novels, notably the Bitterbynde Trilogy. The Washington Post reported that the first summer after Neilsen Booktrack launched in Australia, it showed Dart-Thornton's newly launched fantasy tome The Ill-Made Mute hitting the Herald's best-seller list, ranked next to mainstream authors and 'serious' fiction. Technology, in one swift blow, destroyed a decades-long publishers' bias against fantasy. It demonstrated that what people were really buying was simply not reflected in the old bestseller lists, based as they were on reports from a small panel of bookshops. The reality was, people were buying fantasy - in particular, they were buying The Ill-Made Mute. This debut novel and its two sequels in the 'Bitterbynde Trilogy' went on to win fans and accolades across the globe. The Ill-Made Mute was listed on Amazon's Best, Locus Magazine's Best First Novels, the Sydney Morning Herald's Top Twenty and the Australian Publishers' Association 'Australia's Favourite Read'. It is published in five languages and distributed in more than fifty countries around the world.

Table of Contents

Introduction xvii

1 Founding 1

2 The House of the Stormriders: Tale and Travail 15

3 The Windships: Sail and Swordplay 95

4 The Forest: Tree and Trickery 125

5 Waterstair: Candlebutter and Spiderweb 183

6 Gilvaris Tarv: Pain and Perfidy 233

7 The Road: Thicket and Thorn 295

8 Mirrinor: Wights of the Water 339

9 Doundelding: Secrets Under Stone 365

10 Rosedale: Briar and Bird 411

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews