The Nine Lands

The Nine Lands

by Marie Brennan
The Nine Lands

The Nine Lands

by Marie Brennan



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


A young woman with an unreliable prophetic gift. A street musician searching for the magic she lost. A king whose voice is too dangerous for ordinary people to hear. This collection of short stories explores the Nine Lands, a realm created by award-winning author Marie Brennan. From the spirit-haunted jungle of the Nahele Peninsula to the cold archipelago of Kagesedo, from the occupied lands of Sahasrara to the decadent courts of Quilíbria, the Nine Lands offer you visions of fantasy, peril, and wonder.

  • "Calling Into Silence"
  • "Kingspeaker"
  • "Sing for Me"
  • "Execution Morning"
  • "The Legend of Anahata"
  • "Lost Soul"
  • "White Shadow"
  • story notes

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161106242
Publisher: Book View Cafe
Publication date: 11/19/2019
Series: Collected Short Fiction of Marie Brennan
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Marie Brennan is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for inspiration. She has recently misapplied her professors' hard work to the short novel DRIFTWOOD and TURNING DARKNESS INTO LIGHT, a sequel to the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent. The first book of that series, A NATURAL HISTORY OF DRAGONS, was a finalist for the World Fantasy Award. Her other works include the Doppelganger duology, the urban fantasy Wilders series, the Onyx Court historical fantasies, the Varekai novellas, and nearly sixty short stories, as well as the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides. Together with Alyc Helms as M.A. Carrick, she is the author of the upcoming Rook and Rose epic fantasy trilogy, beginning with THE MASK OF MIRRORS in January 2021. For more information, visit, Twitter @swan_tower, or her Patreon at
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews