The Rains: A Novel

The Rains: A Novel

by Gregg Hurwitz

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.89 $10.99 Save 10% Current price is $9.89, Original price is $10.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Rains: A Novel by Gregg Hurwitz

Winner of the ITW Thriller Award for Best YA Novel

“A brilliant, terrifying, rule-breaking reimagining of the zombie novel.”—Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin

“One of those all-too-creepy-and-believable stories. Chilling!”—Ridley Pearson, New York Times bestselling author

“Readers with a 5th Wave-shaped hole in their sf-loving hearts will rejoice.”—Booklist

“In his first book for teens, Hurwitz crafts a tense, disturbing tale that’s simultaneously a story driven by brother love and the determination to survive against impossible odds.”—Publishers Weekly

From the New York Times bestselling author of Orphan X and comics in the Batman, Wolverine, and Punisher universes comes this relentlessly thrilling adventure perfect for fans of The Walking Dead and The 5th Wave. A Hollywood screenwriter, developer, and producer (V, The Book of Henry, Black Flags), Gregg Hurwitz brings his cinematic flair to this suspenseful new tale.

In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek's Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding.

Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen—and Patrick's birthday is only a few days away.

Determined to save Patrick's life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites—and what they find is horrifying. Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity's only hope for salvation.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780765382689
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date: 10/17/2017
Series: The Rains Brothers , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 122,006
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

GREGG HURWITZ is a New York Times bestselling thriller author. His novels, including They’re Watching, Trust No One, The Crime Writer,Troubleshooting, and Orphan X, have been shortlisted for numerous literary awards, graced top ten lists, and have been translated into over two dozen languages. He is also a New York Times bestselling comic book writer, having penned stories for Marvel and DC. Additionally, he's written screenplays for many major studios and written, developed, and produced television for various networks. Hurwitz resides in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rains 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
RicGreen More than 1 year ago
Hurwitz is an excellent author. His other novels are excellent, well researched, with good progression and just enough of a twist to keep things from being predictable . This novel............not so much. I know it's written for "young readers" but I wouldn't insult them with scenarios that aren't realistic and with sudden "additions" that don't make any more sense than the premise of DNA selection or special immunity. Even getting past that, the way the book ended was like watching a mid-season finale of "The Walking Dead". Series books should have some closure, not a cliff hanger to draw you back for the next book. His Orphan X series was very well done. I'll have to skip the rest of this series and wait for a new novel/project from Mr. Hurwitz.
Twink More than 1 year ago
Quite a few of my favourite adult authors have started writing young adult books - many of them series. Gregg Hurwitz has just released The Rains - the first in his new young adult series. And though it's marketed to teens, this adult reader quite enjoyed The Rains. That ominous cover would lead you to believe weather is the inspiration for the book title. Well, something does fall from the sky, but it's not rain. Instead it's some sort of parasitic spore that infects anyone over eighteen, turning them into some sort of zombie. The driving force behind this attack may be an alien race. So, who are the Rains? Fifteen year old Chance Rain and his seventeen year old brother Patrick Rain. And the third person on the cover is Patrick's girlfriend Alex. Together, they're leading force behind the battle for survival for the rest of the under eighteens kids. Chance is our narrator - indeed it is his journal we are reading. "If you're reading this, your life is at risk. Maybe, just maybe these pages will give you a chance." Hurwitz has plotted an inventive mashup between aliens and zombies and added lots of action and nail biting scenarios. But he has also developed his lead characters well. They have depth and feeling and the reader will immediately be drawn to them., especially Chance. Chance does a lot of growing up as the book progresses. There is also a romantic thread running through the book between Patrick and Alex, but it too is portrayed realistically. Alex is just as strong a lead as the boys. The relationship between the brothers is well drawn, believable and heartstring tugging. And with every story there has to be a negative character. Readers will love to hate Ben, who is the antithesis of the boys. Hurwitz himself is the owner of a number of Rhodesian Ridgeback dogs. In the book, Chance also raises Ridgebacks. They too endear themselves to the reader as part of the 'good guys' team. (But I have to say, there's one chapter where I yelled No, no, no!) I liked the rural setting - our heroes are a little more down to earth and pragmatic than some of the zombie novels set in cityscapes. A few of the plot devices are a bit too pat - but this is the adult mystery reader in me speaking. Just go with the flow and enjoy The Rains. It's a great addition to the teen fiction scene. And keep your eyes peeled for the next book - Last Chance.
pineappletop92 More than 1 year ago
I haven't read many alien invasion YA books aside from The 5th Wave series, but this one turned out to be an excellent decision to read. With a zombie apocalypse-esque plot and invasion tactics that were plausible and horrifying, Hurwitz has created a story full of action and suspense that kept this reader hooked until the very last page. Told as journal entries chronicling the invasion from the moment it began, this story is immediately engrossing with its fast-pace action, suspense, and intrigue. The plot works well for the most part, with satisfying explanations for what is happening in this world, but at times does seem to become one of those 'one mishap after another' types of plots. And while the fast pace is excellent in keeping the reader engaged, it does also at times skip quickly through some moments as well. The characters are interesting and realistic, and show some great depth throughout. Since it is told by an unreliable narrator, though, a lot of the aforementioned issues could also be attributed to the fact that it is supposedly being written by a fifteen-year-old boy. Otherwise, I really enjoyed reading this, and am greatly looking forward to the sequel to hopefully answer some of those questions that popped up at the end. **This review is based on an egalley which I received through Edelweiss by the publisher in return for an honest review.**
jens1973 More than 1 year ago
This book is a real page turner from Hurwitz. I am a fan of his novels, and he makes the change to YA thriller well. For any fan of Walking Dead, go for it! Good story, interesting characters, fast paced read.
tpolen More than 1 year ago
When I initially read the description of this book, it sounded kind of zombie-ish, but some reviewers had mentioned The Rains was different, not the usual trope - so I gave it a chance. The action starts almost immediately and there are some fantastic tension-filled, hold-your-breath moments throughout the story. The author does a wonderful job at showing Chance's insecurities when comparing himself to his brother, both through his journal entries and actions, and also at emphasizing not everyone's strengths lie in the same areas. Chance and Patrick have had to rely on each other from a very early age after experiencing heartbreaking losses, and their relationship is one of my favorite things about this book. There are a few unexpected twists near the end - some I found interesting, another not so much, but no spoilers here. I liked the direction this story was heading and couldn't imagine where it would go from there, but then a surprising revelation is made, and the walls of this suspenseful novel collapsed around me. I felt cheated. For some readers, this may be a welcome turn of events, heightening the excitement for the next book, so I may be in the minority. Overall, I enjoyed The Rains and would recommend it to post-apocalyptic fans - it's well-written and has some likable characters, but was disappointed that it took a well worn path at the end. Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.