Get a $10 Gift Card When You Buy $100 or More in B&N Gift Cards
We Are the Fire

We Are the Fire

by Sam Taylor
We Are the Fire

We Are the Fire

by Sam Taylor

Hardcover

$18.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 1

Overview

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor's explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

All will burn.

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana—both taken from their homeland at a young age—only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

Praise for We Are the Fire:

"At once brutal and tender, this heart-pounding debut will make you ponder what it means to be monstrous—and what it costs to be human." —Joanna Ruth Meyer, author of Echo North and Into the Heartless Wood

"Set to fill the Ember in the Ashes-shaped void in your heart." —Culturess



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250241429
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication date: 02/16/2021
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 1,095,793
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.50(d)
Lexile: HL790L (what's this?)
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

Sam Taylor grew up in Arizona's deserts and now lives among Connecticut's trees. She spends her days writing, being mom to the world's cutest kiddos, whirling through dance workouts, and baking too many cakes. She does not possess fire magic, but does have one fire-colored cat. We Are the Fire is her debut novel.

Customer Reviews