Acorna's Triumph (Acorna Series #7)

Acorna's Triumph (Acorna Series #7)

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.50
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 22 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Acorna's Triumph (Acorna Series #7) by Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth A. Scarborough

Beloved by millions of readers, Anne McCaffrey is one of science fiction's favorite authors. Writing with award-winning author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough, she has created the bestselling Acorna series, focusing on the adventures of the brave unicorn girl.

Now, with Acorna's Triumph, they turn to the dramatic conclusion of the series, as Acorna faces her most difficult challenge ever. She has defeated slavers, a deadly international conspiracy, and the vicious alien Khleevi, only to endure the loss of her beloved Aari, distant in both time and space.

Now, finally, Aari has returned, and together they can finish rebuilding their home world. But Aari is oddly changed, to the point where he barely remembers Acorna — much less their love — and his actions grow more and more sinister ... As Acorna tries to stop a vicious criminal from destroying innocents, a new complication arises. Sensing the Linyaari weakness, the deadly Khleevi return, determined to take back the planet—for good. In this dark time, it will take all of the unicorn girl's courage and determination to rescue Aari and stop the alien menace once and for all.


About the Author

Anne McCaffrey is considered one of the world's leading science-fiction writers. She has won the Hugo and Nebula awards as well as six Science Fiction Book Club awards for her novels. Brought up in the United States, she is now living in Ireland with her Maine coon cats, her piebald mare, and a silver weimaraner and declines to travel anymore. She is best known for her unique Dragonriders of Pern series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780380818488
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/26/2004
Series: Acorna Series , #7
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 4.18(w) x 6.75(h) x 0.88(d)
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

Anne McCaffrey, a multiple Hugo and Nebula Award winner, was one of the world's most beloved and bestselling science fiction and fantasy writers. She is known for her hugely successful Dragonriders of Pern books, as well as the fantasy series that she cowrote with Elizabeth A. Scarborough that began with Acorna: The Unicorn Girl.

Elizabeth Ann Scarborough is the author of Channeling Cleopatra and the Nebula Award-winning The Healer's War, as well as more than twenty science fiction and fantasy novels. She lives in the Puget Sound area of Washington State.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Acorna's Triumph (Acorna Series #7) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This entire series is a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Acorna¿s Truimph is the seventh and final book in the Acorna series by Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Ann Scarborough. Acorna is a young linyaari (a humanoid-unicorn species) who was raised by humans. In previous books, she has had many adventures to be reunited with the other linyaari and free their home planet from the insect-like khleevi. In Acorna¿s Truimph, Acorna is reunited with her missing lifemate Aari who has been time-traveling with the feline shape-changer Grimalkin. Acorna bounces from one crisis to another across space and time, chasing thieves and rescuing people, all while trying to solve the mystery of Aari¿s strange behavior. The plot reads like a series of television episodes ¿ each crisis is neatly wrapped up and then the characters move on to the next adventure. Several of the supporting characters aren¿t much more than clichés and even the main characters seem shallow at times. However, it is entertaining in a tongue-in-cheek kind of way and the action does bop along fairly swiftly. This light-hearted jaunt through space and time with almost-magical unicorn people will mostly appeal to young adults. Others might want to try Scarborough¿s Nothing Sacred or books from McCaffrey¿s Pern series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wasn't pleased with this one. It had too many holes and was too whiney. I think Acorna has overstayed her time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Over the past few years, Acorna has won the hearts of fans around the world. Sweet, yet strong, she has faced down aliens, healed, and searched for her past and her future. Yet, she has been a tragic heroine, for in the quest for freedom, she lost her lifemate, Aari....................... Fortunately, in her universe, time is something to be bent, and through the magic of alternate realities, Acorna and Aari get a second chance. The problem is, Aari seems to have no memory of their love other than a dry recitation as if he is reading a script of who he is supposed to be. As heartbreaking as that change might be, there are direr matters at hand, the insectoid aliens who have caused Acorna's people so much pain are once more a threat, and thieves have stolen a treasure that must be recovered. .......................... **** As with the Pernese stories, domestic dramas weigh equally with planetary crises to create a well rounded story. Fans of action, adventure, intrigue, and romance each have something to appreciate herein. Subtle humor poking fun at this current timeframe lighten the mood appreciably. While you may be sad to see this saga end, since Ms. McCaffrey's stories are among the most re-readable written, it is nothing to be too disheartened about. ****
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Ancestral Hosts are near immortal shapeshifters, who rescued the Ancestors (unicorns) from earth because they were hunted to near extinction by humans who wanted their magical healing horn. The hosts mixed their DNA with that of the Ancestors leading to the creation of the Linyaari race. They made their home on Vhiliinyar until the insectoid race known as the Khleevi destroyed their home world. Acorna, who as a baby was found and raised by three space miners, finally is reunited with her people and meets her lifemate Aari......................................... Together they help to rebuild and terraform Vhiliinyar but below the surface of the planet they find a room meant for time traveling. Aari becomes lost in time and space and when he returns he is different and Acorna keeps her distance from him. After rescuing a previously unknown sentient race, Acorna begins to believe that Aari is really an Ancestor host that he traveled with and the real Aari is trapped on Vhiliinyar in the past during a Khleevi attack. A rescue mission is mounted but will they be in time to rescue Aari before the Khleevi torture him once again.......................................... The Acorna novels are great space opera filled with non-stop action and enough romance to appeal to fans of that genre. Fans of Star Trek, Star Wars and Lost in Space will find ACORNA¿S TRIUMPH a wondrous delight and a fitting end to this breathtaking series. Readers who liked this book will want to read the previous six works in this series starting with the aptly named ACORNA............................ Harriet Klausner