Guinevere's Gamble (Chrysalis Queen Quartet Series #2)

Guinevere's Gamble (Chrysalis Queen Quartet Series #2)

by Nancy McKenzie

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Guinevere's Gamble (Chrysalis Queen Quartet Series #2) by Nancy McKenzie

The second book in the Chrysalis Queen Quartet, starring the young Guinevere.

Much has changed over the last few months in Gwynedd, but Guinevere is still uncertain where her future lies. She recently made the unsettling discovery that she has been guarded all her life by a pagan tribe who believes she is destined to save them—they believe she and the great king will one day wed. But this prophecy is so at odds with her inferior position in the castle as Queen Alyse and King Pellinore’s lowly ward, she can’t believe it’s true. Now more complications arise as Guinevere and her cousin accompany Alyse and Pellinore to a meeting between Welsh kings, presided over by one of the High King Arthur’s knights. While there, Guinevere discovers she has a powerful enemy: King Arthur’s sister, Princess Morgaine. But why would Morgaine hate her?

Guinevere is tumbling into her destiny in ways she never imagined, and she may soon have to face the prophecy with new eyes. . . .

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375853609
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 06/09/2009
Series: Chrysalis Queen Quartet Series , #2
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 970,236
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 10 - 14 Years

About the Author

Nancy McKenzie is the author of several novels based on Arthurian tales. She lives in Danbury, Connecticut.

From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Guinevere's Gamble 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Guinevere is still struggling to come to terms with the prophecy given at the time of her birth; a prophecy that foretold Guinevere would one day be wed to a great king and be the highest lady in the land. She's also trying to come to terms with the young man the ancient tribe appointed as her personal guardian. As a ward of Queen Alyse and King Pellinore, she is invited to join them and her cousin, Princess Elaine, as they travel to a meeting of the Welsh kings. Here Guinevere meets King Arthur's sister, Princess Morgan. Unfortunately, Morgan seems to hate Gwen on site and uses her power and influence in an attempt to destroy Guinevere through the people she cares about. This puts Gwen's tribal guardian, Llyr, in danger, and she will risk everything to save him. In GUINEVERE'S GAMBLE, McKenzie introduces the infamous Morgan le Fay and also Merlin to her readers. As with the previous installment, Ms. McKenzie gives these old (and much written about characters)new life and makes them her own while still remaining true to the legend. GUINEVERE'S GAMBLE is the second book in THE CHRYSALIS QUEEN QUARTET and a marvelous companion to the first book, GUINEVERE'S GIFT. I loved reading more about Guinevere's journey toward her future and I am anxiously waiting for the third book.
Madelynn Felix More than 1 year ago
This book was really good!I reaally enjoyed it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. I can't wait for the next book!