Never After

Never After

by Marie Brennan

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Forget perfect princesses, handsome princes, and "happily ever after." In this collection of thirteen flash-length fairy tale retellings, award-winning author Marie Brennan introduces you to a world of manipulative mirrors, treacherous pigs, and candy houses that will eat you right up. Each one is a subversive little gem, guaranteed to shock the Brothers Grimm.

  • "The Mirror's Tale"

  • "The Kindness of Sisters"

  • "Conversation with a Wolf"

  • "Gold"

  • "A Smile, a Laugh"

  • "Nesu-a"

  • "The Princess and the . . ."

  • "One Last Prize"

  • "The Fall of the Fortress of Brick"

  • "Many Faces"

  • "Every Moment, I Dream of Sleep"

  • "Just Right"

  • "And Everything Nice"

  • Afterword

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161256053
Publisher: Book View Cafe
Publication date: 02/26/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 667 KB

About the Author

Marie Brennan is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for material. She most recently misapplied her professors' hard work to the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent; the first book of that series, A Natural History of Dragons, was a finalist for the World Fantasy Award and won the Prix Imaginales for Best Translated Novel. Her collaborative novel Born to the Blade, written with Michael R. Underwood, Malka Older, and Cassandra Khaw, was recently published by Serial Box. She is also the author of the Doppelganger duology of Warrior and Witch, the urban fantasies Lies and Prophecy and Chains and Memory, the Onyx Court historical fantasy series, the Varekai novellas, and more than fifty short stories. For more information, visit or her Patreon at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Never After 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
jnmegan 7 months ago
Marie Brennan’s collection of flash fiction, Never After: Thirteen Twists on Familiar Tales, provides a short but enjoyable experience for fans of traditional fairy tales. Some entries are closely linked to the originals, while others adopt a different point of view or unique perspective on the story. A good example of maximizing content within a limited word count, Never After is a satisfying way to re-experience these beloved childhood tales in novel ways.